So I was wondering what everyone had read so far this year? I have chosen my five most recent and will look to put a new list together every month. Let me know what your list has included and which has been your favourite so far 🙂

My shortened list goes a little something like this;

  1. Troy: Fall of Kings (David Gemmell) – I LOVE David Gemmell’s works and have read all of his fantasy novels two or three times! The Troy series was a change in work for Gemmell as it involves alternative history/mythology and details the lives of characters from Homer’s ‘The Iliad’. Gemmell’s writing is something that I cannot get enough of, it is fluid, there are no ‘waffley’ passages or unnecessary descriptions of inanimate objects; it is all focussed on the interactions between characters and detailing fantastic action scenes. ‘Fall of Kings’ carries on from ‘Lord of the Silver Bow’ and is the final book in the ‘Troy Series’. Unfortunately, Gemmell died during the writing of this book and as such, it was to be his last. The book was finished by his wife, Stella Gemmell who, in my opinion, did a wonderful job. The book is also worth reading for the inclusion of the touching homage paid by Conn Iggulden to David Gemmell at the end of the book. (Goodreads) (Amazon)
  2. Mistborn: Shadows of Self (Brandon Sanderson) – This is the second book detailing Wax and Wayne’s adventures in Elendel. Waxillium Ladrian is a lawman and ‘Twinborn’, meaning that he has Feruchemical and Allomantic ancestry. I write this hoping that people have read the Mistborn Trilogy that details events in the city of ‘Luthadel’ in the world of ‘Scadriel’ 300 years prior to Wax and Wayne’s exploits in this series. Sanderson is one of my favourite writers and his world-building, I think, second-to-none amongst current high/epic fantasy writers that I have read. Any of Sanderson’s books are worth reading, although the current ‘Stormlight Archives’ series is top of my list. (Goodreads) (Amazon)
  3. Reaper of Stone, and Broken Banners – I have covered both of these books in my reviews but I will give a little ‘blurb’ here also. The story centres around a new recruit in the army named Elinor. Elinor’s role in the army is a ‘reaper’ i.e. one that demolishes the old to pave way for the new. Elinor is naïve but strong and has a knack for finding those in need of a little help. Elinor will put her life on the line to help her people (and usual does). The world in which these stories are set is Aederon, and there is a huge class divide between the nobility and the commoners. The corruption within the nobility lays the foundation for most of the events within these novellas. They are full of action, well-devised characters and a nod to the mystical. (Goordeads) (Amazon)
  4. Snakewood (Adrian Selby) – I have also recently reviewed this book. This novel details the disbanding of ‘Kailen’s Twenty’, mercenaries who were renowned for being the best at what they do; kill and get paid, and the subsequent killing of them by an unknown person(s). The book details their battles and their journey, documented by several members of the crew and those affected by them. There ‘magical’ (well, chemical) element to this novel is the ‘brews’; these are potions that can give someone better eyesight or more strength and makes for very enhanced action scenes. (Goodreads) (Amazon)
