The Harry Potter Book Tag!

I saw this on Jaed’s page over at Bibliophilewanderlust and loved the idea of it! She encouraged me to give it a go and I just couldn’t resist. So, here goes;

FLAGRATE – A book with an interesting premise/theme but you’d like to re-write

New Moon by Stephanie Meyer

new moon cover

Ok, ok, so I wouldn’t re-write it personally but I would like Stephanie Meyer to take another shot at it. For me, it was boring and too self-loathing. The other three books though? I loved them. (Guilty Pleasure).

ALOHAMORA – The first book in a series that got you hooked

Easy, easy, easy; The Way of Shadows (The Night Angel Trilogy #1) by Brent Weeks

way-of-shadows cover

This book is just brilliant and it really opened my eyes to fantasy. Weeks is one of my favourite authors, like, ever, and this is as good as it gets. The Night Angel Trilogy just got better and better.

ACCIO – A book you wish you could have right now

Oathbringer (The Stormlight Archive #3) By Brandon Sanderson

stormlight archive

The first two books (The Way of Kings and Words of Radiance) in this series have, in my opinion, set the standard for epic fantasy. They have a mix of everything! Oathbringer is rumoured to be released this year (AAARGHHHHH) and I just wish I could fast forward and be at the front of the queue!

CONFUNDO – A book you found really confusing

Gardens of the Moon (Malazan Book of the Fallen #1) by Steven Erikson

Gardens of the Moon cover

I mean, eh?! Just…eh?! I didn’t get far with despite several attempts.

EXPECTO PATRONUM – Your spirit book

Legend (The Drenai Saga #1)

Legend cover

Haha slightly ambitious? Nah! I could would should(?) fight an army and prove ever loyal as well as being a down-to-earth bad-ass who wields a dual-headed axe named ‘Snaga’. I’m a dreamer and you can’t take that from me!

APARACIUM – A book that surprised you in a great way, reveals to be more than it is

Hope and Red (Empire of Storms Trilogy #1) by Jon Skovron

Hope and Red

Ok, so this book isn’t released until June 30th 2016 but I loved it! I was expecting a high-calibre fantasy but what I actually got was so much more! Piracy, biomancers, thieves and ‘lacies’, all taking place in a bright and vivid world built by the author. It left me exhausted but craving for more. I loved it.

 

I had so much fun doing this tag and it got me raking through my (seriously untidy) library! What did you think?

 

Danny 🙂

