My Girl by Jack Jordan

*I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review*

The book blurb;

‘Paige Dawson: the mother of a murdered child and wife to a dead man.

She has nothing left to live for… until she finds her husband’s handgun hidden in their house.

Why did Ryan need a gun? What did he know about their daughter’s death?

Desperate for the truth, Paige begins to unearth her husband’s secrets.

But she has no idea who she is up against, or that her life isn’t hers to gamble – she belongs to me.

‘My Girl’ tells the story of Paige Dawson whose daughter has been murdered and her husband has taken his own life due to the grief he felt over his daughter’s death. Paige is now in a perpetual cycle of alcohol abuse and self-medication. Her relationship with her own family is tired, they are almost to the point of exhaustion with her, and her mother-in-law is an intrusive do-gooder. Louise’s life is looking bleak.

 

Holy WOW!! First of all, this is a book of two halves, the first half is unassuming and the second half goes at 1000mph! The mood in the first half of this story is one of surrender. Paige is at a point in her life where she is in this perpetual cycle of grief and she cannot move forward from this. Her life is tainted by the death of her daughter. I have to say that Jack Jordan has captured this character unbelievably well. My profession involves working with people who self-medicate with alcohol and become addicted to it and I can recognise the signs of being unable to move forward from the addiction. Mr Jordan has created a character that is so real she is almost tangible, her reactions are erratic and she is wholly desensitised. Paige is a character I feel that I can really relate to and understand.

The other characters in this novel are minor in the first half of the book but really come to the fore in the second half. Their stories become real and as more light is shed on the situation, the reality starts to become stark. I literally (figuratively) sat there with my eyes hanging out of my skull and my jaw firmly fixed to the floor (hyperbole is allowed right?). The events unfold at a dizzying pace and I could not put this book down, it blew me over. There are so many elements to this book but I feel that I can’t cover them as I will give something away. With that in mind my review has been purely of my own reaction to the book and I have not divulged any information, my apologies for that. Trust me though, you need to read this book.

Summary

Readers who want a well-told and detailed story will love this book. The characters are given the breath of life and really come to life on the page, you will find yourself firmly immersed in their world. For readers who want a story that will grab them around the waist and shake them to exhaustion you will love this. For readers like me, who want both, buy this book. No, seriously, buy it now, you will not regret it.

Rating

4.5/5

‘My Girl’ is available at Amazon

Finding Jack

Website: jackjordanofficial.co.uk

Twitter: @_JackJordan_

Goodreads

 

 

