Minimalist Mondays – A 50 word Book Review of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

‘Minimalist Mondays’ are exactly what they say on the tin, they are reviews of books that are 50 words or less. Every other Monday (starting today) I will post a micro-review of my favourite books. I decided to do this for a number of reasons; 1) I have loads of books on my ‘read’ pile that I haven’t got the time to go back through and write a full review for and thought that this would be a cool way to review them. 2) it gives me another reason to rake through my library cluttered book closet and find books that I have not picked up in a while. 3) I literally love literary-themed alliteration.

Accompanying every post will be a minimalist poster of the book (or, if I can’t find one, a cool alternative image or fan art of the book) with a link to where I found the image.

These reviews may seem reductive in nature, but hey, that’s the point. I’m not doing this to ‘reduce’ the book per se, it’s just a bit of fun – hopefully, if I manage to review them in only 50 words! With that said, let’s crack on…

50 words start…NOW!

Orphan boy lives in a cupboard under the stairs. Learns he’s a wizard then meets a giant, joins Hogwarts, makes friends and hunts for the Philosopher’s stone. He plays a giant game of chess, Voldemort appears on back of a man’s head, looks in a mirror, the Stone is destroyed.

Phew, that was not easy, but it was fun! I love the Wizarding World of Harry Potter and when I found this at the back of the shelf I just had to try and review it.

The Cover

I found this poster on Pinterest and I thought it looked fantastic! This was designed by Craig Anthony Wintin – well done to you sir!

What did you think? Could you do any better? Which book would you most like to try and review in 50 words or less? Let me know. I would also greatly appreciate it if you shared this on any social media channel of your choosing 🙂

As ever, thank you for reading, I appreciate you precious time

 

Danny 😀

 

 

 

