Fantasy Fridays – Week #1

Fantasy Fridays is all about celebrating the wonderful world of fantasy! The fantasy genre has given us LOTR, GOT and a lot of other books/series of books that are now well known acronyms. Fantasy is my go-to genre, it always has been and probably always will be, I started reading Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl series when I was young and I haven’t looked back since.

What I love about fantasy is that anything can happen and all imagination can be explored. From orcs to magicians, from kleptomaniac dwarves to dragons, fantasy has it all. It has many sub-genres including epic fantasy, high fantasy and urban fantasy. There are no limitations to the imagination or the written word and fantasy should be championed.

During my Fantasy Fridays, I will talk about the books that brought me to the genre and ensured that I continued to read it.

First up is ‘Beyond the Deepwoods’ (part of the Edge Chronicles) by Paul Stewart and illustrated by Chris Riddell. The Edge Chronicles are a series of books set in the Edge world. They contain various fantastical characters and beautiful illustrations. The stories are rich and varied and contain lots of action and a great deal of morality tales. I love the Edge Chronicles and will be passing my books on to my children for them to enjoy.

The illustrations in the Edge Chronicles are brilliant and here are a few examples:

Sanctaphrax - Edge Skyshipmapgalerider - Edge Undertown - Edge

The Edge world is one that is rich and vibrant, dark and mysterious, but always fun and well worth a read. There is magic, weather-casting and a fantastic industry scene that comes to life as you read on. The characters are really easy to fall for and you find yourself fully immersed in their world.

Here are the links if you’re interested in the books.

amazon waterstones-logobarnes-and-noble-logo

Have you ever read the Edge Chronicles? Let me know? What are your favourite fantasy illustrations?

Thank you for reading, I hope that you enjoyed it in all of its briefness 🙂

Danny

