Good Morning and a happy Monday 🙂

I was tagged by Jesse over at Books at Dawn to give the Book Buying Habits Tag a go, and after reading the categories, I thought it was something I could get my teeth into. So here i am, chowing down!

My Habits

Where do you buy your books from?

I tend to buy my books in physical form, usually paperback but sometimes I’ll splash out and buy a hardback. I shop at;

Waterstone’s

Amazon

The Works

Any charity shop I find and any independent bookseller that I stumble upon.

Do you ever pre-order books and if so do you do this in store or online?

I do sometimes pre-order books but only when they are in my ‘Top 5’ authors or series. For example, I have pre-ordered Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. This was also a great deal as the books are half price if pre-ordered. That’s something else that can encourage me to pre-order a book, by getting it cheaper! I have no preference where I pre-order my books, a lot of the time it is easier online as most of my favourite authors are based i the US and UK bookstores don’t advertise this facility/opportunity.

On average, how many books do you buy a month?

Oooh, quite a few (I’m always being warned by my wife that we “don’t have enough room’ for them), I seem to find myself gravitating towards bookstores and other little shops that sell books when I am out and about. I would say that I usually buy between 6-12 books per month but this can change if I find myself (inadvertently of course) in a bookstore.

Do you use your local library?

In one word, no. I don’t feel great about the fact I don’t use my library but I just find it such an inconvenience. The genre of book I read is not heavily featured and I am not patient enough to wait for it to be ordered in. I will just buy a book if I really want to read it. Not a great attitude I know but…..

What is your opinion on library books?

Honestly, I think they’re great, I love the fact that they cater for children and give them the opportunity to read, also, the older generation are able to visit their local library and pick up a lot of books that they like to read. They just don’t work for me is all.

How do you feel about second hand books?

Love, love, love! I thrive on second hand books and will always grab myself a bargain whenever I find one. I love the fact that great stories can be passe don to those who can’t/won’t fork out around £10 for a new book.

Do you keep your TBR pile on your main bookshelves or no?

If only I was that organised! No, I don’t keep my TBR pile on a bookshelf, I do, however, tend to keep them together, which is something at least. All e-copies that I receive for review are kept on my desktop and my kindle (as well as input into my review organising spreadsheet, how very mature of me!).

Do you plan to read all of the books you own?

Erm… yes? I would like to be able to read every book in the world but, alas, that is not to be! I don’t think I will ever read every book that I own but I know that I will give it a bloody good go!

What do you do with books you feel you will never read/did not enjoy?

Share and share alike. If I feel that I’m not enjoying a book then I will pass this on to somebody else. I have friends that read a similar genre to me and my brother has an almost identical taste in genre so he’ll be the first recipient of a book that I couldn’t read.

Have you ever donated books?

Yup. I have multiple copies of The Night Angel Trilogy as well as certain GOT novels so they will be donated (or as part of a giveaway) soon.

Have you ever been on a book buying ban?

A book buyin… I can’t even comprehend this sentence. Is this a thing? In actual fact, I have been on sort of a ban, that being I had to reduce the amount of books I buy because I had nowhere t put them. I still bought books however, I don’t think I could stop myself fully.

Do you feel that you buy too many books?

Again, ‘too many books’ is not a phrase I am familiar with. I could never buy too many books, I mean, I am converting my loft into a library and that needs filling with books. I will always find a reason to buy books and will never have too many.

 

Phew, that’s a weight off my shoulders, all of my book buying habits are laid bare for all to see. And, to be honest, I don’t think I’m that bad *crosses fingers and hopes for agreement*.

Tagabunchabloggers

I saw another blogger (I can’t remember who, I’ll have ti try and find out) choose the bloggers to tag by going through his recent follower, commenter and notifications feed and I loved the idea. So…

Most recent follower: Cassidy over at An Abundance of Fiction

Most recent commenter: Maddalena at Space and Sorcery

Most recent ‘liker’: Candace at Literary Dust

If you have done this before then don’t worry about it, It is seriously fun though, don’t you think?

 

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed sifting through my dirty laundry *ahem*.

 

Danny 🙂

 

