I think I originally planned to have ‘Fantasy Fridays’ every two weeks but I just couldn’t stop myself from typing! As anyone who has ever laid eyes on my blog in the past three months will tell you, I love fantasy!  I love the hundreds thousands of different species and creatures. I love the characters, from the squeaky clean hero to the morally grey anti-hero and even the super evil villains! You know you do too 😉

*Credit for the main image goes to StickyLeaf over at DeviantArt*

In ‘Fantasy Fridays – Week #1‘ I looked at the first fantasy novels I properly sank my teeth into as a child, The Edge Chronicles (the website is here). And because the artwork by Chris Riddell was so popular, I thought I’d share some more of it with you all (you can thank me later).

 

Thaw Daggerslash - Edge ChroniclesShryke - Edge chronicles

How bloody fantastic are they?! They are so detailed and expertly unique and compliment the novels brilliantly. Again, I thoroughly recommend reading these books!

This week I wanted to focus on another fantasy book that is aimed at the younger readers, the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer. For those who haven’t read any of the Artemis Fowl novels, they are great. Artemis Fowl is a young genius from Ireland and a criminal mastermind. Artemis is from an exceedingly rich family and has his own security guard, ‘Butler’ who is just fantastic. Artemis soon learns that there is a whole other world, where other creatures such as fairies and (kleptomaniac) dwarves, and they are invisible (mostly) to human eyes.

The Artemis Fowl series is one that absolutely captured my attention and my imagination. This series has action, otherworldly technology, different fantastical races and a hole secret societal structure. It also has LEPrecon (Lower Elements Police Recon) which fairy, Holly Short – a great character alongside Artemis – is a part of. The novels follow Artemis and Holly as they start as enemies and become friends and even partners. These books are just wonderful! here are some of the book covers. I personally think the Fairy runes are great!

Artemis Fowl cover 1Artemis Fowl cover 2

The Artemis Fowl books can be found via the image links below:

Artemis Fowl cover collection amazon waterstones-logo

Thank you for making it all the way through my fantasy ramblings 🙂 I hope you have enjoyed them. Next week I will be looking at one of my favourite fantasy trilogies of all time, ‘The Night Angel Trilogy’ – I can’t wait!!

That’s all from Fantasy Fridays – Week #2, please do comment and let me know if you have ready any of the books mentioned so far in the Fantasy Fridays posts 🙂

 

Danny

